Gå til indhold
You are here: Home Education Programmes supporting cooperation and mobility Erasmus, Erasmus Mundus and Tempus programmes

Erasmus, Erasmus Mundus and Tempus programmes

The implementation of the strategic work and reform programmes is underpinned by other types of cooperation within the EU.

The action programme Lifelong Learning Programme 2007-2013 integrates a large number of sectoral programmes under a single umbrella which are to promote EU cooperation within education and training and vocational education and training. The Lifelong Learning Programme aims to promote the implementation of the strategic framework programme Education and Training 2010 and 2020 as well as to increase the focus on education and training within the Lisbon process.

The programme supports mobility, partnerships and international educational cooperation through the sectoral subprogrammes:

  • The Comenius programme supports activities within the primary, lower-secondary and upper-secondary school area
  • The Erasmus programme supports activities in the higher education area, including doctoral programme
  • The Leonardo da Vinci programme supports activities within vocational education and training
    The Grundtvig programme supports activities within adult education

Of the EU education programmes at university level, Erasmus is the most extensive. The Erasmus programme covers higher education, including doctoral programmes. A main focus of the programme is student mobility and, each year, the programme enables approx. 200,000 European students to study or work abroad. The programme also supports cooperation among higher education institutions and mobility for academic, technical and administrative staff.

Erasmus Mundus

Erasmus Mundus is a worldwide cooperation and mobility programme that aims to enhance quality in higher education and promote intercultural understanding. The Erasmus Mundus programme provides financial support for European joint masters and doctoral programmes, mobility scholarships as well as the development of partnerships between universities. At the end of 2008, the European Council adopted the new Erasmus Mundus programme for 2009-2013. Information on the programme and support possibilities for both individuals and institutions is available on the European Commission’s website.


The Tempus programme is designed to underpin the development of the higher education systems in south-east Europe, the southern Mediterranean countries, the countries in the former Soviet Union and Mongolia. The programme was established following the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Under the programme, financing is granted for university management, curriculum development, institution building and networking.

The Danish Agency for Higher Education is the national administrator of the Lifelong Learning Programme and the Erasmus Mundus and Tempus programmes. You can find more information about the programmes on the website of The Danish Agency for Higher Education. 

last modified Feb 20, 2015