Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions


What is the bibliometric research indicator?

The Bibliometric Research Indicator (BFI) is an element of the performance-based model for distribution of the new block grants for research to universities. The BFI is used to allocate funding based on the distribution of publications that are scientific, peer-reviewed and published in a channel included in the BFI lists. It is based on the universities’ registration of publications in the PURE current research information system. Publications are counted once a year and, subsequently, awarded points in the BFI system.
The BFI distributes funding at the university level amongst four major fields of sciences: Humanities, Social sciences, Natural and technical sciences, and Medical and health sciences.

What institutions receive BFI points?

Only Danish universities receive BFI points, as they are the only institutions that are part of the funding scheme, of which the BFI is a part.

What type of publications are eligible for BFI points?

The following publication types trigger the assignment of BFI points:

  • Research-based monographs
  • Research-based articles in journals
  • Research-based book chapters
  • Conference contributions at seleccted conferences
  • Patents
  • Dissertations obtaining the Danish ‘doktorgrad’ (higher doctoral dissertations)

Where do I find an overview of research publications?

An overview of the universities' production of research publications is found at the BFI system under the tab 'Høstresultater'.

How are publications registered?

Danish research publications are registered locally at the universities ether by the researchers themselves or by information specialists. The eight universities all use the current research information system Pure, although it goes by different names locally.

Are there guidelines for research registration?

Yes. Please, download the complete set of guidelines below:

BFI lists

What are the BFI lists?

The BFI lists show the publication channels (i.e., Publishers, Journals, Book Series and Conference Series) in which publication of research results are awarded points. The BFI has two lists:

  • The BFI list of publishers lists the publishers with which publication of scientific books and anthologies are awarded points.
  • The BFI list of series lists the journals, book series and conference series in which publication of research results are awarded points.

Both the Series List and the Publishers List are managed by an Academic Committee. The Series List is managed in accordance with the recommendations of 67 expert groups made up of researchers appointed by Universities Denmark. Although the channels on the BFI list of series are linked to specific subject area groups, representing a variety of specialist fields, researchers are entitled to publish in all channels, regardless of affiliation.

Where do I find the BFI lists?

You can download the BFI lists from the BFI home page:

Publication levels

Publication channels (publishers, journals, etc.) on the BFI lists are ranked at three levels: ordinary channels at level 1, the particularly distinguished at level 2 and the excellent and most prestigious channels at level 3.

When is publication level determined?

Level 2 are reassigned every second year, while level 3 is reassigned every fourth year. The next reassignment of level 2 fall 2019. The next reassignment of level 3 is fall 2021. New publications added throughout the year are ranked at level 1.

What is level 3 and when will it be introduced?

Level 3 is a level reserved for world leading research. From the autumn of 2017, expert panels have been able to nominate publication channels to level 3.


last modified May 15, 2018