Gå til indhold

New Permanent Secretary in Ministry of Higher Education and Science

September 22, 2015
The Danish Government will recommend to Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II that Agnete Gersing be appointed as the new Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.

Agnete Gersing is currently the director general for the Danish Competition and Consumer Authority and will begin her position as Permanent Secretary in the ministry from 1 November 2015.

The Minister for Higher Education and Science Esben Lunde Larsen states:

- I am very much looking forward to working with Agnete Gersing, who has great professional insight and much experience of central administration. Agnete Gersing has the combination of solid management experience and political understanding, which were qualities sought after by the government for the new Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Higher Education and Science. Furthermore, she has the personal qualities needed to manage a ministry with extremely talented and engaged employees.

Agnete Gersing states:

- Higher education and science have great importance for all of Danish society. I look forward to helping further develop the area in close cooperation with the minister, the ministry's employees and institutions.

Agnete Gersing was born in 1963 and has a Master of Economics from the University of Copenhagen.


Director General, Danish Competition and Consumer Authority, since 19 August 2010

Director General, Danish Competition Authority, 2006-2010

Permanent Under-Secretary of State, The Prime Minister’s Office, 2005-2006.

Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, 2000-2005.

Director general, Institute of Food and Resource Economics*, 1999-2000
*(its current form, previously a sector research institute under the Ministry of Food)

Head of Division, Ministry of Finance, 1997-1999.

Chief advisor, Ministry of Finance, 1996-1997.

Special advisor, Ministry of Finance, 1994-1996 Executive assistant, the Confederation of Danish Employers (DA), 1992-1994

Head of section, Ministry of Economics, 1991-1992

For further information please contact:

Head of Press Jesper Langergaard, tel. +45 7231 8020, e-mail: jela@ufm.dk

Document Actions