Gå til indhold

David Dreyer Lassen named new chairman for Independent Research Fund Denmark

November 15, 2018
Minister for Higher Education and Science Tommy Ahlers has appointed David Dreyer Lassen, Professor in Economics, as the new chairman for Independent Research Fund Denmark as of 1 January 2019. David Dreyer Lassen replaces Professor Peter Munk Christiansen.

Photo: Jens Bangsbo/Børsen
Photo: Jens Bangsbo/Børsen

Professor David Dreyer Lassen will replace Professor Peter Munk Christiansen, whose chairmanship expires at the end of the year.

-  Independent Research Fund Denmark plays a crucial role for Danish Research in supporting original research ideas. David Dreyer Lassen is absolutely the right person to head this important work. David is a respected researcher and has a solid knowledge of the wider research and university policy area. He also has practical experience with the research advisory and financing system. Not to mention his experience from an international research environment. He has a very strong profile and I am very pleased that he has accepted this role, says Minister for Higher Education and Science Tommy Ahlers.

David Dreyer Lassen is a Professor of Economics at the Department of Economics, University of Copenhagen, and comes from a post as the chairman for Independent Research Fund Denmark – Social Sciences. He was also a member of the Committee for Better University Education, which the Government set up in 2017.

- Independent Research Fund Denmark allocates risk investment funding to Denmark’s many, many talented researchers, in an amount that is highly sought-after. Independent Research Fund Denmark has a broad base in research environments and contributes to boosting Danish research national and internationally by giving researchers the opportunity to pursue their ideas for the benefit of plentiful growth and the Danish society. As chairman, I look forward to working to ensure and develop the position of independent research in the Danish research landscape and maintain a strong focus on its importance for society, in close dialogue with research policy stakeholders, says David Dreyer Lassen.

The Minister for Higher Education and Science thanks Peter Munk Christiansen for his valuable contribution:

- Peter Munk Christiansen has been a talented and well-respected chairman. He has played a significant role in making clear how important risk investment and independent research are, for example when it comes to finding research-based solutions to pressing societal challenges. Furthermore, Peter Munk Christiansen has led Independent Research Fund Denmark in a very professional manner through a time of great change with a new headquarters in Odense and a new legislative framework for the Fund’s work, says Tommy Ahlers.


Minister for Higher Education and Science Tommy Ahlers: Ministry’s media hotline: +45 7231 8181.
Professor David Dreyer Lassen, Chairman for Independent Research Fund Denmark as of 1 January 2019,  tel. +45 51 33 97 13, email: david.dreyer.lassen@econ.ku.dk
Jesper Risom, Head of Division, Secretariat for Independent Research Fund Denmark, tel. +45 23 63 94 10, email: jri@ufm.dk
Mette Lynge Hansen, Press Officer Independent Research Fund Denmark, tel. +45 72 31 84 65, email: met@ufm.dk 


Document Actions