Gå til indhold
You are here: Home Newsroom Press releases 2013 Elite researchers honoured with awards

Elite researchers honoured with awards

The Higher Education Ministry’s EliteForsk Award 2013 is being awarded to five of the country’s most talented researchers. H.R.H. Crown Princess Mary will present the awards that will help boost new research.

Feb 07, 2013

From April 2013 the informal name of the Ministry’s name is Ministry of Higher Education.

Five of Denmark’s most talented researchers are receiving the 2013 EliteForsk Award, with a value of DKK 1.2 million, of which DKK 200,000 is a personal award and DKK 1 million is towards research activities.

The awards will be presented on 7 February by H.R.H. Crown Princess Mary at the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek in Copenhagen. Higher Education Minister Morten Østergaard will announce the winners.

– The EliteForsk Award is a well-deserved reward for talented researchers who contribute to Denmark’s position among the international research elite, and I am very pleased that with this award, we acknowledge their efforts and help boost new research, says Morten Østergaard.

Recipients of the EliteForsk Award 2013:

In addition to the five EliteForsk awards, the higher education minister will present 20 EliteForsk travel scholarships worth DKK 300,000 each to talented young PhD students who have already excelled in their respective fields.

- The travel scholarships give young talented researchers the opportunity to spend time at some of the world’s very best research environments within their fields. It is important that we learn from and compare ourselves with the greatest international forces. Internationalisation is a keyword within research and the Danish government is developing a strategy that will make it easier for Danish researchers and students to travel and improve themselves, as well as making it easier for talented researchers to come to Denmark and contribute to Danish research environments.

The Danish Council for Independent Research will also present grants from the Sapere Aude research career programme to top researchers, research leaders and young talented researchers. Meanwhile the Danish National Research Foundation will honour this year’s Niels Bohr Visiting Professors.

- It is crucial for the development of Danish research that our researchers have the best opportunities to use and develop their talents. The awards, scholarships and grants presented are recognition of and investment in our many talented researchers, says Morten Østergaard.

For further information please contact:

Press and communications consultant Steen Bruun Jensen, Danish Agency for Science, Technology and Innovation, tel: +45 4132 6030, e-mail:

Press Officer Ingeborg Nielsen, tel: +45 2211 0200, e-mail:


last modified May 02, 2013