Gå til indhold

Five outstanding researchers honoured with EliteForsk awards

February 28, 2018
Minister for Higher Education and Science Søren Pind will present the EliteForsk awards today to five of Denmark’s most talented young researchers to draw attention to the brightest minds and honour the greatest research results.

Cellular memory, how light interacts with our smallest building blocks, the fundamental mathematics behind quantum physics, research into blood pressure that could improve life for millions of people, and chemical processes that form the basis for mass-produced food.

This year’s five EliteForsk winners cover a wide field and for the first time, count a researcher from the private sector among the recipients.

All five will receive DKK 1.2 million today in recognition of their impressive efforts in the service of research. DKK 200,000 of this is a personal award, while DKK 1 million is for their research activities.

The awards will be presented by Minister for Higher Education and Science Søren Pind at an event at the Copenhagen Opera House.

- Today we honour some of the beacons of Danish research. They break down barriers and dare to look into the beyond to discover the unknown. With curiosity, diligence, and immersion, they create new realisations that enrich us all and make us wiser. We must celebrate their achievements, says Søren Pind.

Recipients of the EliteForsk award 2018 are:

During the same ceremony, 20 talented PhD students will receive an EliteForsk travel scholarship worth DKK 200,000. The scholarships will assist the students in travelling around the world to apply themselves in some of the best international research environments.

- It is beneficial when research talents absorb knowledge found outside our own borders. The travel scholarships give young and talented PhD students the opportunity to acquire knowledge and inspiration from leading researchers at the best educational institutions around the world, says Søren Pind.

For further information please contact:

Press secretary Jakob Sejr Teichert: telefon 7231 9503 eller email jte@ufm.dk

Document Actions