Gå til indhold

Opportunity for membership of the LISA science team

The ESA Director of Science invites scientists based in ESA Member States to apply for membership of the LISA Science Team. Mandatory Letters of Intent due 21 February 2024, 12:00 (noon) CET and Deadline for receipt of Proposals 27 March 2024, 12:00 (noon) CET.

The Laser Interferometer Space Antenna (LISA) was selected for study by the Science Programme Committee in 2016 as the mission to implement the science theme "The Gravitational Universe". Following the successful study phase, the mission was adopted by the SPC at its 175th meeting held on 25 January 2024, marking the start of the implementation phase of the mission. The role of the LISA Science Team is to provide scientific advice during the development and operations of the LISA mission.

The LISA Science Team will comprise up to twenty members from European Member States and international partners, including one representative nominated by the LISA Consortium, and up to two complementary scientists, with scientific expertise which broadens the science case of the nominal LISA mission. Of the remaining seventeen members, eleven LST members will be appointed by the Director of Science through this AO, for a term of three years, renewable. The appointment is ad personam. Membership is open to experts in all relevant disciplines of the LISA mission (e.g. instrumentation, data processing, astrophysics) – the composition and expertise of the LST will reflect the needs of the mission throughout its lifecycle. (Up to six LST members will be appointed through a similar call issued by NASA; complementary scientists will be appointed through a future announcement of opportunity.)

The AO is open to scientists based in ESA Member States. The LST should reflect the diversity of the scientific community, hence we encourage applications from early career scientists and historically under-represented groups in astronomy and space science.

Image: ESA


Thommy Ingemann Larsen
Tlf.: +45 72 31 84 50
Email: til@ufm.dk
Uddannelses- og Forskningsstyrelsen